Spring Greetings!

Greetings Danebodians!

One sure sign that spring is on its way is that Family Camp Registration Forms for the 2016 June and July camps are now available on our website.  Be sure to note early-bird deadlines.  We hope to see you at camp this year!

Here are a few updates from Danebod Camps Committees, all of which are made-up of members from June, July, & August camps.  Please address any questions or concerns to your camp’s representatives:

Food Committee- Thank you for your feedback!

We are so grateful for your participation in last year’s Food Committee work!  Your input helped us establish a great working relationship with cook Bronwyn Goehle.  Surveys from all three camps revealed three main points: Danish food traditions are important to us, we value including people who have food allergies and sensitivities, and we are seeking a balance between healthy and sweet for snacks and treats. Moving forward, the Food Committee will dissolve and every camp will collect feedback and share it with Bronwyn directly. Then, she will make any necessary tweaks in collaboration with the camp directors.

Accessible Housing Committee- Responding to Feedback!

Since October, the Accessible Housing committee has been busy responding to your feedback from the camps survey!

Here are three additional updates: 

  1. The Accessible Housing Committee went to the Folk School Committee meeting in Tyler on Monday, November 2, 2015. They presented the alternate ‘Cottage’ location for consideration and shared the results from summer camper survey. The Folk School Board subsequently voted unanimously to NOT recommend the alternate ‘Cottage’ location for consideration by the church. Therefore, the original ‘Swan Lake’ location will be the site for the building.
  1. The committee is thrilled to be working with Poul Bertelsen, Architect of the renovation at the Danish American Center in Minneapolis. With Poul’s help, the committee plans to take camper feedback from this summer’s survey and present complete plans to campers this summer!
  1. The Danebod Camps Board and the Accessible Housing Committee invite you to join us for a brainstorming meeting to kick-start the Fundraising Committee! Do you have expertise in development, capital campaigns, or fundraising? Are you passionate about camp and want to see a strong and sustainable future for generations to come? Then we want YOU! Join us at the Danish American Center* on Monday March 21st from 6-8pm. Beverages and light refreshments served. We can’t wait to see you there! RSVP tina.maynor@gmail.com


Questions?  See these committee members:

June- Dave Lessleur and John Nielsen

July- Glen Olsen, Carla Mortensen

August- Alex Legeros, Ted Brady, John Bornhoft, Svend Petersen

Folk School Liaison- Margie Bornhoft

Chair- Linda Jacobson


NEW Committee- Folk School Centennial

Our beloved brick folk school building turns 100 in 2017! To plan celebrations, we are assembling a three-camp committee. Maybe we could have a unified theme with a t-shirt design contest? Maybe we could collect some Folk School stories and memories from the last 100 years in a Danebod Story Corps? Or a folk school building art show? If you have ideas to share, contact Katie Seaburg, the committee chair at khmseaburg@gmail.com or contact one of your camp Folk School centennial Committee members. We are planning meeting before June camp.

June- Katie Seaburg & John Nielsen

July- Rus Weikle & Carla Mortensen

August- Alex Legeros & Erik Juhl

Chair- Katie Seaburg


Executive Committee- Annual Meeting Updates

It was another collaborative and enjoyable Annual Board Meeting for 2015! Please see the minutes, posted on the Family Camp website for full details. Here are a few action highlights:

We voted in an overwhelming majority to eliminate the Category I and II distinctions and therefore the point system. All three camps expressed that they continue to value new and veteran voices on the board and that each camp should be free to implement this as they see fit. A related motion to reduce the number of representatives from 6 per camp to 3 was presented but did not pass.

This year’s representatives are as follows:

2015-2016 Board Members


3 years – Michael Schwartz

2 years – Alex Dixon

1 year – Kathy Van Eyck

3 years – Gerry Werth

2 years – Nan Miller

1 year – Maggie Miller


3 years – Bill Coalson

2 years – Anika Kildegaard

1 year – Rus Weikle

3 years – Joel Mortensen

2 years – Dennis Spader

1 year – Curt Petersen


3 years – Andrea Juhl

2 years – Chris Kehew

1 year – Linda Jacobsen

3 years – Jim Quartemont

2 years – Karri Brady

1 year – Laura Bernard

Executive Committee

Tina Maynor (President)

Alex Legeros (Vice President)

Richard Nielsen (Secretary)

Janis Weikle (Treasurer)


Blue Skies!


*3030 West River Parkway, Minneapolis, MN 55406